Skip to main content

Undergraduate and graduate students with a passion to end hunger are invited to apply for the World Hunger Leadership Award. The award, previously known as the Clinton Hunger Leadership Award, was created to honor President Bill Clinton for his commitment to humanitarian causes, including the eradication of hunger. The award recognizes outstanding leadership by undergraduate and graduate students in the movement to end hunger. The winner will receive a cash award to use towards an educational experience that will advance their knowledge and understanding of hunger and related issues.

The scholarship is co-sponsored by Rise Against Hunger and NC State University’s Center for Student Leadership, Ethics & Public Service. The award will be presented to the winner at the 2019 Universities Fighting World Hunger Summit.

Award Criteria:

  1. Must be an enrolled undergraduate or graduate student at an accredited post-secondary institution in North or South America.
  2. Must show demonstrated leadership in the fight against hunger.
  3. Must pledge a commitment to a life of service in the area of hunger, poverty reduction or related area.
  4. Winner must be available to attend the Universities Fighting World Hunger Summit upon final selection.

Learn more about our 2018 award recipient, Cedric Haibiyaremye, in this article by NPR.

Previous Award Recipients:

2018 – Cedric Habiyaremye, Washington State University
2017 – Jonathan Chin, New York University
2016 – Balanding Manneh, Arizona State University
2015 – Maria Rose Belding, American University
2014 – Azeem Ahmed, Auburn University
2014 – Honorable Mention: Patricia Paskov, University of Wisconsin
2013 – Brendan Rice, University of Alabama at Birmingham
2013 – Honorable Mention: Devin Yeomans, Auburn University
2012 – Ryan O’Donnell, North Carolina State University
2011 – Gavin R. Armstrong, University of Guelph,
2011 – Honorable Mention: Ellen Luby Orabone, American University
2010 – Sarah Nam, Harvard University
2009 – John Coggin, North Carolina State University